eNews: Posts tagged databases

Now Available: New York Times Online

The New York Times Digital Edition is now available for OSU. Register here to begin enjoying *full access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com smartphone apps. NYTimes.com provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, blogs, videos and more. *(Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.)

Trial Access: The Philosophy Documentation Center

The Philosophy Documentation Center is a non-profit publisher of reference materials, scholarly journals, book series, conference proceedings, and other materials in a variety of disciplines such as philosophy, business and professional ethics, catholic tradition, history, language and Literature, Religion. The publications are from a variety of countries. While most content is in English, some material in French, German, Spanish, Korean, Russian, and Chinese is also available.

 

Through March 31, 2018, the full-text of all e-journal content in Philosophy Documentation Center (over 170 titles) is available to the OSU Community.

Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts (Volume 1, Volume 2) is a unique online series that lets students and researchers peer deeply into the client-therapist relationship and follow the progress—and the setbacks—of clients across multiple therapy sessions. This multi-part collection is growing to include 6,000 transcripts of real therapy sessions, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of reference works in one cross-searchable interface. Together, these materials bring the therapeutic process to life and provided unprecedented levels of access to the broadest range of clients.

Volume 1 lays an important foundation for clinical work with clients by providing 2,000 real-life, fully anonymized transcripts alongside an extensive selection of primary accounts, handbooks, and reference works.More than 25,000 pages of reference material round out this volume, complementing and contextualizing the primary sources. Content includes encyclopedic entries, textbook case studies, and how-to material from leading professionals in the field.

Volume 2 builds on the foundation of the inaugural edition with 4,000 new transcripts of actual therapy sessions. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II is an ideal resource for examining the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches and methods and their real-life applications. The collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches, making this an outstanding resource for teaching and research.

This OSU trial will be available until March 15, 2018. Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: History of Feminism

History of Feminism brings together the best and most relevant scholarship from Taylor & Francis, its imprints, and its authors. This resource covers the fascinating subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, journal articles, and an image gallery, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes of Politics and Law, Religion and Belief, Education, Literature and Writings, Women at Home, Society and Culture, Empire, Movements and Ideologies.

 

This OSU trial will be available until October 15, 2017. Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

LexisNexis is now Nexis Uni

Lexis Nexis will be transitioning to a new platform by the end of September. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790) with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Trial Access: The Value Line Research Center

Value Line is the largest independent provider of investment-related information in the world, with a reputation for high quality, cost effective data used by individual investors, portfolio managers, corporate finance professionals and academic institutions. The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Access includes The Value Line Investment Survey (1,700 companies), The Value Line Investment Survey – Small& Mid Cap Edition (1,800 companies), The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line Special Situations Service, and The Value Line Convertibles Survey.

 

Remote Users: This trial is only available from non-Corvallis-Campus locations via OSU’s VPN service.

 

This OSU trial will be available until August 30, 2017. Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Now Available: Alexander Street Press Streaming Videos

Oregon State University Library patrons now have access to the Academic Video Online (AVON) collection from Alexander Street Press. AVON provides access to over 63,000 streaming videos on a wide array of subjects ranging from arts, education, travel, How-to, travel, STEM topics. Users can also find and view documentaries, news programs, short clips, feature films, from popular producers such as BBC, A&E, PBS, American Academy of Pediatrics, 60 Minutes, and much more.

 

All AVON videos are closed captioned and have transcripts that come in multiple languages. You can learn more about AVON and its platform by visiting http://proquest.libguides.com/avon

 

Now Available: Independent Voices

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Now Available: Index Islamicus Online

Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It contains over 500,000 records, covering all the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, as well as Muslims living elsewhere, and their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Index Islamicus includes material published by Western scholars in the fields of Humanities and Social Sciences, specialist area- and subject-based areas, and by Muslims writing in European languages.

Now Available – Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Oregon State University Libraries now has online access to Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law. 

The HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and western countries. Scholars will find judicial cases, statutes, essays, scholarly articles that date back to the 19th century through the modern history of slavery. Also included are ebooks and pamphlets. This is a collection critical to any scholar looking to find historical material on legal, economic and social aspects on the subject.

For more information about the Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law collection or its search features, please visit https://home.heinonline.org/content/Slavery-in-America-and-the-World-History-Culture–Law/

Next Page »