eNews: Posts tagged databases

Trial Access: Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape offers access to a variety of materials related to the renowned poet William Wordsworth and his fellow writers such as Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Source materials such as working notebooks, manuscripts, travel journals, fine art, maps, and correspondence offer a unique perspective on Wordsworth’s writing processes and the variety of influences that shaped his work. Over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection are also included to provide a visual representation of the natural beauty that inspired Wordsworth’s creativity.

 

This OSU trial will be available until March 31, 2017. Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

 

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Thanks to the generosity of OSU Libraries’ donors, we have been able to acquire the online version of Early English Books Online (EEBO).  From the first book published in English in 1473 through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, EEBO contains the full text and images from more than 125,000 titles.  This resource is useful for researchers in English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.  It includes the works of Shakespeare, Bacon, Newton, and many other authors, both famous and obscure.  The materials include prayer books, calendars, royal statutes, musical exercises, broadsides, and pamphlets. Users can search by author (e.g., Chaucer), keyword (e.g., herbal), subject (e.g., Brain—Anatomy—Early works), material type (e.g., Maps), and language (e.g., Algonquin).

Trial Access: World’s Fairs

World’s Fairs covers the history and modern influence of these massive events. Other topics covered include the proliferation of North American exhibitions and fairs around the world as well as the rise of twenty-first century expos. Access to official records, monographs, personal accounts, ephemera, publicity, artwork and artifacts will provide in-depth insight into the World’s Fair phenomenon. A Visual Highlights Gallery and the 360 Objects Gallery provide vivid visual representation of many aspects of each World’s Fair event.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017

Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: Victorian Popular Culture

Victorian Popular Culture provides a comprehensive view of American and European popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, as well as some materials dating as early as 1779. A wide variety of topics are explored including Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. The research experience is enhanced with an Interactive Chronology, A quick-reference glossary with Biographies of key figures and descriptions of key Venues, and a visually striking Images Gallery.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017

Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: The First World War

The First World War is a rich resource for learning about the Great War.  Explore a variety of information on personal experiences, propaganda, and the war’s events through such materials as personal narratives, diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs, printed books, military and government files, ephemera, artwork, personal artifacts and film. Explore Interactive Maps, a multi-faceted Chronology Interface, and an expansive Visual Images Gallery for a rich experience of this complex historical event.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017

Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: African American Communities

African American Communities

African American Communities focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious issues. Specific topics covered include racism, discrimination, desegregation, urban renewal and housing, civil rights movements and protests, community integration and artistic expression. Relevant pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth Oral Histories, thematic Image and 360 Object Galleries reveal the African American experience in such places as Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/31/2017

Please tell us what you think. Comments on this resource can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: Passport (Euromonitor International)

Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping you to analyze market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally. Videos and guides help you navigate the database.

This OSU Trial runs through 3/24/2017

Please tell us what you think. Comments on these resources can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Trial Access: APA Style CENTRAL

APA Style CENTRAL is the ultimate resource on APA Style. Utilize tools such as quick guides, tutorials, self-quizzes and much more to refine writing technique. Improve research skills with tutorials, reference ebooks. APA’s My References provides reference management in APA Style for original as well as PsycINFO-generated citations. Paper templates facilitate comprehensive, easy to use APA-formatting during the writing process. The Publishing Center presents manuscript submission resources and detailed publication analytics information on a variety of psychology-related journal titles from many different publishers, including APA.

This OSU Trial runs through 10/17/2016

Please tell us what you think. Comments on these resources can be submitted on the electronic resource evaluation form.

Now Available: ASME Digital Collection – eBooks

OSU Libraries’ subscription to the ASME Digital Collections now includes eBooks from 1993 to the present.  Over 150 titles are available covering subjects such as Design & Manufacturing, Engineering Management, Energy and Power, and Pressure Vessels and Piping. For a list of the eBook titles available, see the ASME eBooks page.

ProQuest Resources Down for Maintenance: August 20-21, 2016

Beginning on Saturday August 20-21, 2016, ProQuest will be performing critical maintenance. The window is scheduled to begin at 7:00 PM Pacific Standard Time and will last for 8 hours. During this time, access to all ProQuest products (listed on this page: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/az.php?v=27204) will not be available.

« Previous PageNext Page »